::Pushtimargiya Utsav Bhav Bhavna::

Faagan Shukla – 11 - Kunj Ekadashi

Krishna Playing hori

Kunj means - A secluded place under a big tree, or a few trees whose branches are leaning towards the ground and which is covered with the perfumed blossoms of its own and also of the climbing creepers. The inside ground has soft grass which is enough for a small group of people to sit on, and it is surrounded with plants of variously colored perfumed flowers. This is also known as a bower.

Importance of the day: Today in rajbhog and Shayan darshans, nikunj leela is done by Shree Prabhu. From today, the Kunj leela starts and thus this ekadashi is known as ‘Kunj Ekadashi’. From today the Dol kirtans are sung.  Shree Prabhu swings in Dol at below places

  1. Nandalaya
  2. Yamuna Pulin
  3. Shree Giriraji
  4. Kunj

Experience (Bhaavan) of Nine Rasas (Aesthetic sentiments) in Hori,Faag and Dolotsav

Aesthetic is the philosophy of art. It is supposed to deal with the beauty in art, its relish or enjoyment, and the feeling of awareness of joy which accompanies an experience of beauty.
Creating Rasa means to give aesthetic delight or to give an experience of ultimate bliss and happiness. The term Rasa unfortunately has no equivalent in the English language. But it can be translated as flavour, to relish, sentiment (emotion) , as explained by scholars.
Rasa is simply explained as that which is being tasted or enjoyed

"Rasa iti kaha padaarthaha Uchyate Aaswaadyatvaat ll"

That is; just as a well disposed person, whose mind is free from other thoughts and thus centered on the act of eating, relishes the flavours while eating food in which various spices are added and in this relish gets satisfaction. So also the spectator whose mind is engrossed in the spectacle relishes the "Sthayi Bhavas"(latent permanent states) aroused by the presentation of the various emotions with the help of verbal, physical and mental gesticulation and gets joy in this experience.

The combination of "Vibhava" (Determination), "Anubhava" (Consequents) and "Vyabhicharibhava" (Complementary psychological states) leads to Rasa.

In Faag, Hori and Dolotsav Utsavas, Bhaktas relishes different Rasas originating from different bhavas by playing hori,faag, dolotsav utsavas with Shree Krishna. Below are the bhavas:

1Shrungar Rasa (Love): (Sthayi Bhav is ‘Rati’) The latent permanent state is Love. This Rasa is experienced in the divine sports of Shree Krishna and Shree Swaminiji swinging in ‘Dol’. They both are Alambana Vibhavas and Uddipan Vibhavas for each other. Thus this rasa is in dark color just like Shree Krishna.


2Veer Rasa (Courage): (Sthayi bhav is excitement). The Latent permanent state is Excitement. During the month of ‘Faagan’, Veera Ras is the main Rasa wherein two groups are formed and Holi keel is done and each group competes to defeat the other group. In this process of keel, each group sprinkles color and colored water on each other and try to defeat.


3Karuna Rasa (Pathos): (Sthaayi Bhav is Shok). The Latent permanent state is Pathos.  This rasa is evoked when Shree Prabhu steps down after swinging in Dol and thus marks the end of Dol which creates the atmosphere of pathos in mind of Goswami Balaks, bahuji’s and Betijis.


4Adbhut Rasa (Wonder): (Sthaayi Bhav is Vishmay). The Latent permanent state is wonder. When the kirtans of ‘Gaari’ are sung before Shree Prabhu in ‘Faagan’, then bhaktas feel wonder in their heart and thus this rasa is evoked.


5Hasya Rasa (Joy): (Sthaayi bhav is Hansi). The Latent permanent state is Joy. The Gath jodi of Shree Vrushbhanji and Shree Yasodaji, Shree Nandraiji and Shree Kirtiji creates joy in mind of all Vraj vasis during Hori.


6Bhayanak Rasa (Fear): (Sthaayi bhav is Bhay): The Latent permanent state is Fear. During Dhammar,Faag and Hori, Vraj vasis suddenly attacks on a person and catches him and drags into their group and colors him with Gulal etc and thus create fear in mind of bhaktas.


7Bibhatsa Rasa (Disgust): The Latent permanent state is disgust. The sprinkling of various materials like cow dung, clay on each other during the play of Hori creates Bibhatsa Rasa.



8Raudra Ras (Anger): (Sthaayi Bhav is Krodha). Latent permanent state is anger. When Shyam sunder plays hori with some other Vraj Lalana, Shree Swaminiji becomes angry and thus Raudra Rasa.



9Shanta Rasa (Peace): (Sthaayi Bhav is Nirveda) Latent permanent state is peace.  After Shree Prabhu steps down after swinging in Dol, then Shree Prabhu experiences Shanta Ras.



(Note: Pictures of different rasas are taken from Courtesy www.indianetzone.com)