Pushtimarg : A Ved marg:

According to Shreemad Vallabhacharyaji, following are some of apshri’s teachings and principles about Ved marg:

According to Shree Bhagwatarth Prakaran (9,33 Subodhiniji): Shree Mahaprahuji compares the Vedas to the enlighted swaroop of Shree Bhagwan. Vedas enlightens the swaroop of bhagwan and is compared with Shree Prabhu’s Pitambar. Just like the rays of sun enlightens and makes the view of sand clearer, same way, Vedas makes us to know the swaroop of bhagwan clearer.

  • Vedas are given simile of Kalptaru by Shree Mahaprabhuji.
  • Vedas have two kandas i.e. Gyan kand and Yagya kand. These both kandas supports each other and not have to be taken independently. (Bha gwatarth Prakaran, 1,1, Subodhini)
  • Vedas are the Naam Shrusti of ParBrahm. Vedas are Sanatan and Nitya. They appear and disappear but are never created and destroyed.
  • Vedas have Shaakhas i.e. Branches. The objective of different Branches is described by Shree Vallabhacharyaji in Bhagwatarth Prakaran (3,21 Subodhini)
  • According to Sarvaniryana Prakaran of Shree Acharyaji, ‘Those who want to lead a truthful and devout life (Dharma-acharan) must abstain from those who criticize Vedas and do not believe in Vedas. (Sarvanirnaya Prakaran)
  • Ved Marg is protected by those who implements the teachings of Vedas and lives their life according to Vedas. Brahmins are regarded as Adhibhautik Swaroop of Vedas and thus Brahmins are regarded as the protector of Vedas.
  • The three sadhans to know Vedas are 1. Bhagwad Prasad 2. Tap 3. Ved yukti, from which Bhagwad Prasad is most important.
  • The meaning of Vedas must be understood only on the basis of ‘Sabda Vichar’ and not on false logic. The meaning of the words of Vedas must be interpreted according to the meaning of ‘Dhaatu’ and “Shabdas’ by Paani and other Shabdacharyas. False imaginations and logic is forbidden in interpreting Vedas.

Shuddha-advaita Pushtimargiya Vangmay Classification:

  1. Praman Granthas
  2. Pramey Granthas
  3. Sadhan Granthas
  4. Fal Granthas
  1. Praman Granthas section:

Shree Vallabhacharyaji has accepted following as pramanas:

  1. Veda Chatustay: Consisting Samhita, Mantra sections and Upanishads.
  2. Shree Krishna Vakya: Shreemad bhagwad Geetaji
  3. Vyas Sutras (Brahmsutras), Uttar Mimansa
  4. Samadhi Bhasa (Shreemad Bhagwat Mahapuran)
  5. Other shastras that are coherent, compatible and consistent with the above four shastras.

Shreemad Vallabhacharyaji is the only acharya who focused on the significance and importance of Shreemad Bhagwat Mahapuran which enjoys the unique position in shastras. Shreemad Bhagwat Mahapuran, which is considered as to be originated from the ‘Samadhi’of Shree Ved Vyas, is also known as ‘Nigam Kalpataru Fal’ i.e. the ripe fruit of Ved rupi kalpataru.Vedas are Kalpatura (i.e. Divine tree) and Shreemad Bhagwat is the ripe fruit of this tree i.e. it’s the essence of entire Vedas. Shreemad Vallabhacharyaji is the first and the only acharya who gave a respectable position to Shreemad Bhagwat Mahapuran in the level of Vedas to be considered as one of the ‘Pramanas’ in Shuddha-advaita Darshan.

Shreemad Vallabhacharyaji proclaimed the ‘Shuddha-advaita’ siddhant in such a way so as to interprete all shastras consistently and coherently. Shreemad Vallabhacharyaji orders in Shastrarth Prakaran about the Four Pramanas of his darshan. Further apshri orders that Doubts originating from Vedas must be resolved by reading Shreemad Geetaji, doubts originating from Shreemad Geetaji must be resolved by reading Brahmsutras and doubts originating from Brahmsutras must be resolved by reading Shreemad Bhagwat Mahapuran.

Thus Shree Mahaprabhuji accepts ‘Shabda Pramanas’.


(Based on: Satsiddhantmartand by Pt. Gattulalaji)

What is a “Sampraday” (sect)?

The essence of Vedas derived by Shree Hari's devotees like Brahma, Rudra etc. demigods, which is received through the heritage (parampara). This includes, giving the mantra etc, which results into the liberation of soul, is called as Sampraday.

The meaning of "Sampradaya" is derived as below:

Word "Sampradaya" is made of 2 upsargas i.e. "Sam" and "Pra" , a verb (Dhatu) "Da" and "Dhaj" pratyay.

Verb "Da" means "Daan"

Upsarga "Sam" means Samyak i.e. the Daan is given by the bhagwad aagya.

Upsaarga "Pra" means Prakarsh. This is because the daan of mantra is originated from Vedas.

How many sampradayas exist?

There are basically following main sampradayas existing:

  • Vaishnav Sampradays
  • Hiranyagarbh Sampradays
  • Shaiva Sampraday and others

If only Vaishnavas Sampradayas are asked then following are 4 vaishnava Sampradays existing:

Under the shelter and grace of Chaturbhuj Bhagwan Vishnu, there are four main Vaishnav Sampradays

1. Rudra Sampraday

2. Laxmi Sampraday

3. Brahm Sampraday

4. Sanakadik Sampraday

Which are the vaishnava sampradays?

The Vaishnav Sampraday's are following:

  • Rudra Sampraday (Vishnu Swami)
  • Laxmi Sampraday (Shree Sampraday)
  • Brahma Sampraday
  • Sanakadik Sampraday

At the end of Dwaparyuga, the non-orthodox antitheistic sampradayas like Kapaladik, Buddha and Jain also came into existence. They made the orthodox theistic and vedic sampradays weak. But due to grace of supreme lord, the great divine acharyas like Shree Vishnu Swami, Ramanujacharyaji, Madhvacharyaji, Nimbarkacharyaji re-established the vedic religion. The above four sampradayas are the main vasihnava sampradayas. The acharyas belonging to the respective sampradayas are given below:

  • Rudra sampraday – Shree Vishnuswami – Shree Vallabhacharyaji
  • Shree Sampraday – Shree Ramanujacharyaji
  • Brahma Sampraday – Shree Madhvacharyaji
  • Sanakadik Sampraday – Shree Nimbarkacharyaji